Types of eucalyptus

The word Eucalyptus means well covered and refers to the capsule that protects the seed of the species that make up the myrtaceae family. With more than 700 species, almost all from New Guinea and Australia, they are currently distributed throughout the planet.

In this post we want to show you some of the types of eucalyptus most used in gardening so that, in this way, you know a little more about them and their importance within some industries, such as perfumery, pharmaceuticals, wood and cellulose.

Eucalyptus types – list of names

We start by showing the main types of eucalyptus with this list of species names for this type of hardwood :

  • Eucalyptus camaldulensis
  • Eucalyptus citriodorus
  • Eucalyptus cladocalyx
  • Eucalyptus coolabah
  • Eucalyptus dumosa
  • Eucalyptus globulus
  • Eucalyptus incrassata
  • Eucalyptus leucoxylon
  • Eucalyptus microtheca
  • Eucalyptus robusta
  • Eucalyptus rostrata
  • Eucalyptus torquata

Eucalyptus camaldulensis

Commonly known as red eucalyptus , it is a highly valued species in gardening for its good size and color. Originally from Australia , it can reach up to 45 meters in height. In the same way, although it prefers to be in areas with humidity or near water, it is very resistant to droughts, so it does not require much specific care.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus camaldulensis

Eucalyptus citriodorus

The Eucalyptus citriodorus , Corymbia citriodora or citrodora , is known as aromatic eucalyptus because of the lemon scent that its leaves give off. In fact, this essential oil is widely used in perfumery and aromatherapy. In addition, this type of eucalyptus is highly valued for the hardness of its wood and for its medicinal properties. Like the red eucalyptus, it reaches 45 meters in height and is distinguished by the white color of its bark .

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus citriodorus

Eucalyptus cladocalyx

This is one of the types of eucalyptus that is native to Australia and is characterized by the pink color of its new leaves and by keeping the bark in the lower part of its trunk. They tend to easily reach 30 meters in height and are known as the sugar eucalyptus . Its wood is used to build posts or barriers.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus cladocalyx

Eucalyptus coolabah

Also native to Australia, like most species, this eucalyptus is smaller, reaching a maximum height of 15 meters . It is recognized by its white flowers and by keeping the bark on the trunk, just like the sugar eucalyptus. It usually grows in arid areas, so it does not require special care and is used in natural medicine to disinfect wounds.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus coolabah

Eucalyptus dumosa

Known as white mallee, it is one of the most representative eucalyptus species in Australia. Of shrubby size, it does not exceed 10 meters in height. It has a short and thick trunk, as well as long and thin lateral branches that give it this characteristic appearance. Its flowers are white and its leaves are evergreen and perfumed.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus dumosa

Eucalyptus globulus

Known as white eucalyptus or blue eucalyptus , it is one of the most widely used eucalyptus species outside its place of origin, Australia. It can reach up to 60 meters in height and has a whitish bark and flowers present both solitary and in groups of up to 3. These are bell-shaped and covered by a layer of whitish powder. Widely used both for its wood and for its medicinal properties.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus globulus

Eucalyptus incrassata

It is another species of the eucalyptus variety known as mallee. Also of the bush type and known as yellow mallee , it can reach a maximum of 8 meters in height and has a very fine trunk that has been used by native Australians as wood to make boomerangs and for its healing properties.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus incrassata

Eucalyptus leucoxylon

The yellow eucalyptus is also native to South Australia and reaches more than 15 meters in height. Very characteristic for its white and fuchsia flowers and its deep green evergreen leaves. It does not need much care, but it does not tolerate excess water well.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus leucoxylon

Eucalyptus microtheca

This species reaches 15 meters in height and grows in semi-arid climates, but always near a source of water. This eucalyptus is also commonly known as coolibah, it stands out for having one of the smallest fruits .

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus microtheca

Eucalyptus robusta

It reaches almost 30 meters in height and has a strong wood highly valued for the manufacture of boards and beams. This is one of the types of eucalyptus that stands out the most for its bark, as it is reddish brown and rough. In addition, it has lanceolate leaves and white flowers.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus robusta

Eucalyptus rostrata

The red gum , or also known as red eucalyptus in some areas, is a tree about 45 meters high, widely used in gardening due to its large size and its characteristic bark, which has some reddish streaks on a white tone. It is especially suitable for large gardens. In addition, it does not require much care, withstanding well both droughts and excess water.

Types of Eucalyptus - Eucalyptus rostrata

Eucalyptus torquata

Another type of eucalyptus with a bushy appearance that does not usually reach more than 6 meters in height. It is very easy to distinguish thanks to its orange fruits and its thin and elongated leaves. It is known as coral eucalyptus the color of its flowers that appear in inflorescences of between 3 and 7 flowers. Widely used in gardening to create avenues and even to grow in pots.

Leave a Reply