Classification of plants according to their life spans

After talking about some plants that supposedly attract good luck, today we want to focus on a slightly more scientific aspect, specifically, on the classification of species.

As you know, there are different divisions for plants based on their different characteristics. However, there is one of them that sows some doubts. We refer to the classification of plants according to their duration: annual, biannual and perennial or perennial plants. We talk about each catalog below.

Annual plants

Annual plants are those that live only during one season , that is, they are born, develop and bloom during spring and summer, produce their fruits at the end of the season and in autumn or winter they die. These types of plants usually release many seeds to ensure their survival. Annual plants include both garden plants and vegetables, wild herbs and so-called “weeds.”

Classification of plants according to their duration - Annual plants


Biennial or biennial plants last two seasons :

  • During the first they grow and develop
  • During the second the flowers and fruits appear.

In this group there are also flower plants and food. In addition, there are some species that are biannual depending on the climate.


Perennials or perennials are those that live more than two seasons . These are resistant plants with a good capacity to withstand adverse climates. These are divided into two groups:

  • The evergreen : they are kept for several seasons.
  • The deciduous ones : they are renewed every year.

This name is used for small plants and shrubs, although larger shrubs and trees are also part of this group. As the use of this adjective is misleading, evergreens are also called hard-leafed evergreens or evergreens.

Leave a Reply